3 Life Lessons I’ve Learned from Teaching Dance

Teaching

 

I landed my first teaching job as a hip hop dance instructor at the Academy of Performing and Creative Arts TEN years ago.

Today, I have grown to be a confident individual and dedicated dance instructor.  My teaching experience taught me the following lessons that I apply in my everyday life.

Mini-Victories Lead to Success.  I believe that anyone can learn how to dance and be good at it.  Learning how to dance though is not a one-step process.  No one can become the best dancer in one day.  I guide my students towards their end goal by breaking down the “WHOLE” dance move or routine into many easy-to-learn lessons.  Similarly, life’s goals don’t seem as daunting by splitting each task up into smaller attainable mini-victories.

Adapt to Change…because life is unexpected.  Lesson plans designed for one class might fail to connect with students in another class.  Dancers could get injured before performances.  Life goes on whether you like it or not.  “Our very survival depends on our ability to stay awake, to adjust to new ideas, to remain vigilant and to face the challenge of change.” – Martin Luther King Jr.

Listen to Others.  My students offer invaluable suggestions, creative ideas and feedback.  Listening allows me to connect with my students to help them with their specific problems.  I would not be a very good teacher if I did not listen to my students.  Wouldn’t life be better if we all learned how to listen to each other?

